beauty · Favorites · Hair · Reviews

Affordable ‘Wash Day’ Hair Care Routine for Naturally Curly/Wavy Hair

You’re gonna love this post if you have curly hair like me beauty bug,

I absolutely adore how my curly hair looks – on good days. We all know the frizzy, knotty struggles that come along with being blessed with curly locks, and of course I still have my bad hair days, but they are much fewer and far more apart than they used to be. I think Processed with VSCO with nc presetI’ve finally come to a happy place in my hair care routine- although I won’t say it’s perfect; I’m sure I’ll always find new products I’ll love. But I thought I’d let you guys in on how to get virtually frizz free, curly hair straight out of the shower and for CHEAP.

STEP ONE : IN THE SHOWER🚿

In the shower for wash day I have always loved a conditioner and shampoo that include the words “hydrating” “keratin oil” or are specifically formulated for curly hair. I recently purchased theΒ TRESemme Expert Keratin Smooth shampoo and conditioner. The duo claims

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Products linked in post πŸ™‚

it is anti-frizz, perfectly detangles, provides a silky shine, soft feel, & tames fly-aways which I feel to be quite true. Some shampoo and conditioners tend to leave my hair feeling dry, frizzy and stringy, whereas this pair seems to make my hair shiny, soft, and smooth just as the product label claims. I’ve only been using these two for a week but I can’t complain yet! I should also mention they smell amazing, and your hair will be smelling fresh for days.

 

 

 

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

STEP TWO : AFTER THE SHOWER πŸ™†

This is the most important step in my opinion and for my hair. A shampoo and conditioner can only do so much, you have to apply some leave in products to make your hair look as you want it to. But the constant struggle with finding lightweight products for your hair is real!

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
All products linked in the post πŸ™‚

When I get out of the shower I apply my L’Oreal Paris Advanced Hair Care Extraordinary Oil Transforming Oil-In-Cream (a mouthful, am I right?). I apply a quarter-sized amount of this through my hair with my fingers. After this step, I spray in my Regis Designline Olive Oil Leave-In Conditioner. This product was recommended by a hair stylist and was only $10 at my salon. I need more as you can tell. After this I brush through my hair with a wet/dry brush to let any knots free. The last product I use is the Designline Curl Lock Leave-In Moisturizer, which really helps my hair curl up when it air dries without generating any frizz. This product was only about $10 as well! Three products but it feels like absolutely nothing in my hair, and all three of these products smell great.

All of this of course is helped by the fact I only AIR DRY my hair as well as I limit my use of heat tools. I also only wash my hair every other day, ALTHOUGH you should go longer than that! Natural oils are good for your hair, spritz in some dry shampoo if you’re looking greasy. I have to work on that one still. How often do you wash your hair? What are your favorite hair products? Leave a comment below- let’s chat!

XOXO Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

