beauty · fashion · lifestyle · Photography

My Vintage Diner Photoshoot

Hello beauty bugs,IMG_0288-2

First things first, hope you enjoy the new site layout. I’m still learning how to play around with all of the features on WordPress, but my site will be ever-changing as I figure more and more out.

Let’s get to this post! I was recently granted an amazing opportunity to model in my dream location and dress in an era I’m obsessed with fashion-wise, all while being professionally shot by a friend, Aurora Hooper. These photos came out remarkable and I’m so excited to share some of my favorites!IMG_0230-2

The vibe was a fifties diner (Aero Diner in Windham, CT), with the subject (myself) dressed as Grease’s own Sandy (or my brunette take on it). The main idea going into the shoot involved fries, a strawberry shake, red lips and sunglasses (my aesthetic hahaha).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

FASHION BREAKDOWNIMG_0508

Aside from the suggestions the lovely Aurora had for the red lips, sunglasses and Sandy vibes, I styled my own look for this shoot and all of these clothing items were already lying around in my closet. My shirt I received as a hand-me-down from the 80’s-90’s era, a black and white IMG_0547striped off the shoulder. The pants were high-rise black jeans I had purchased from Charlotte Russe for $25! My jacket was an army green bomber I had gotten on clearance at TJ Maxx, but I’ll link a similar style here. For accessories, I wore a thin black choker I had purchased from Claire’s and a pair of vintage styled sunglasses I had purchased from a small boutique on a trip to Newport, RI last year (you can really find either of these accessories anywhere).IMG_0593

MAKEUP BREAKDOWN-IMG_0354IMG_0351

For this shoot the focus was on the red lips, for which I used my ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip “Avenue”  (review on ColourPop liquid lips coming soon- with swatches!). The rest of my makeup was free range for me to decide on, so I decided to focus on a dramatic brown smokey eye and full on glam wispy lashes. To create this sultry look, I used my Morphe 35o palette as well as my Ardell Wispies. I have previously reviewed the Morphe 35o palette on my blog, I’ll link that here.

IMG_0563

If you’re ever in Eastern Connecticut, I highly recommend visiting Aero Diner. Not only is it adorable and completely true to the Fifties vibe, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is homey and quiet. Truly a hidden gem. Thank you again Aurora for these amazing photos, please be sure to follow her Instagram as well as her visit her website www.aurorahooper.com to see more of her breathtaking photos!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

XOXO Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

